Not Naples, but pretty darn good

We’re back home in Daglan after several days in Milan, which according to Google Maps is some 770 kilometres from Naples. I mention this because Naples is generally regarded as the home of the “modern” pizza (that is, pizza as we know it, with tomato sauce and various toppings).

So obviously, we weren’t in Milan specifically for the pizza. However, Milan is indeed in Italy, and so while we were in the city I had to try at least one of their pies.

My wife Jan and I were in the northern Italian city with Toronto friends Rob and Darlene.  One day the four of us visited a casual spot called Granaio, which is located roughly between the Teatro alla Scala (Milan’s famed opera house) and the Galleria Vittorio Emanuele II (the world’s oldest shopping mall and a showcase for luxury goods). Here’s the restaurant’s window:

Our lunch place, from the outside.

The beauty that I chose was called the Tacco d’Italia, and featured a fairly thick crust (apparently that’s the Milanese style) with tomato sauce, incredibly creamy burrata buffalo mozzarella, and (best of all) several large blobs of ‘Nduja, a spicy, spreadable pork salumi. For 11 euros, this was the large platter I was served:

Spicy, gooey, and all good.

It really was spicy, and I enjoyed nearly all of it, although the crust finally defeated me, as you’ll see:

The outer crust: The end for me and my appetite.

Would I have enjoyed a traditional thin-crust pizza from Naples even more? I may never know, but I do know that I loved my Milanese pie. (And the thought of having another pizza here in the Greater Daglan Area is not, at this point, warming the cockles of my heart.)

This entry was posted in Food, Travels in and out of France and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

