A touch of spring in autumnal Daglan

We are just back from a vacation in Milan (you know, the big city in northern Italy), about which I’ll be blogging in due course. But first, a note on the weather here in Daglan, and a colourful surprise.

Apparently the weather has been pretty miserable here since we were away. Gray, rainy and cool sum up most of our friends’ comments on the weather.

But today was simply lovely — bright and sunny and warm — and so I decided to take a stroll with my shiny new Nordic walking poles.

Not very far from my starting point, I was surprised to find some bursts of colour in the front lawn of another house. And here’s what I saw:

Are these what I think they are?

Now I’m no expert on flowers, but these sure looked like crocuses to me. And I thought crocuses popped up only in the spring. Does anyone have a better idea?

Follow-up note: Thanks to a reader, I’ve learned that these flowers are called “sternbergia.” Further research finds that they are also known as “autumn daffodil” and “yellow autumn crocus.” So I guess we’re not really having spring in September! Lovely, all the same.

This entry was posted in Exercise and fitness, Flora and fauna, Life in southwest France, Weather in the Dordogne and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A touch of spring in autumnal Daglan

  1. Hi,
    You can get crocus which flower September/November as well as the spring flowering ones. Your Nordic poles should be good, I struggle with coordination with poles. Xx

    • Loren Chudy says:

      Thank you, Deborah. I really didn’t know about autumnal croci (is that the right plural?). As for the poles, I can’t say I’m a model of coordination — but I haven’t fallen over yet.

  2. Samandjill Hershfield says:

    Crocuses in the Fall?

    Must be global warming.

    S

    On Thu, Sep 21, 2017 at 12:30 PM, Radio Free Daglan wrote:

    > loren24250 posted: “We are just back from a vacation in Milan (you know, > the big city in northern Italy), about which I’ll be blogging in due > course. But first, a note on the weather here in Daglan, and a colourful > surprise. Apparently the weather has been pretty miserabl” >

    • Loren Chudy says:

      Deborah’s reply (above) shows that you don’t need spring time for croci. Or crocuses. (Where are you, Mrs. Davis, when we need you?) So maybe it’s not global warming. Maybe it’s better bulbs.

  3. Theresa George says:

    Think they are called sternbergia – we have a few in the garden too, they were brought from a cousin’s garden in Condom. Aren’t they a pretty burst of sunshine 🙂

Leave a Reply

