Our (somewhat) bright lights of Christmas

Just yesterday I realized that I’d left you hanging, with my December 9 posting called “A Christmas work-in-progress.” Since then, our village’s new holiday decoration has been completed, but I had neglected to show off the finished work.

To remind you what this is about, here’s a photo from that December 9 posting, showing Santa’s sleigh up in a large tree near Daglan’s main square, in front of the restaurant Le Petit Paris:

What's that? A sleigh in the tree?

What’s that? A sleigh in the tree?

On December 9, I wrote that I bumped into our village’s mayor, Pascal Dussol, as I was taking my photos, and it was he who explained that the decoration wasn’t completely done. Here’s what I wrote:

I congratulated him on this “bonne idée” and said it looked lovely. M. Dussol thanked me, but quickly added that the decoration wasn’t complete — a biche (deer) was to be added in front of the sleigh, plus a set of Christmas lights. So I’ll have to return to let you see this new (for Daglan) bit of Christmas whimsy. Stay tuned.

Last night was chilly and clear, so I thought I should try my hand at photography in the dark. And here’s the result:

Reindeer made of lights are pulling the sleigh.

Reindeer made of lights are pulling the sleigh.

My photograph doesn’t really do justice to the decoration, but I think you can tell that it’s pretty cute. And for the record, here’s Daglan’s main public Christmas tree, as it looked last night:

O Christmas tree, O Christmas tree...

O Christmas tree, O Christmas tree…

Maybe it’s not ready for an appearance in London, Paris or New York, but I think it’s a nice addition to Daglan for the holidays.

This entry was posted in Festivals in France, Holidays in France, Life in southwest France and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Our (somewhat) bright lights of Christmas

  1. Doug Curson says:

    Your photos are excellent – pity the Christmas tree’s not really up to the mark but at least it’s better than last year!
    Christmas greetings to you and your good lady – keep the blog going!

    Doug Curson

    • loren24250 says:

      Aw shucks — thanks Doug! Yes, this year’s tree is far, far better than the poor specimen we had last year. All best wishes for Christmas and the New Year to you and your family too. Cheers!

  2. Those reindeer are adorable.

  3. Lesley says:

    The tree is sort of verticle and well lit. Love the bambii pulling the sleigh.
    Our village appears to be saving money (again) with the same old, same old string (not rope/garland) of lights. They blaze away all night when there is no one to see them!
    A few of the houses have some tasteful decorations outside – not Tim The Toolman Taylor over abundance- but you can tell it’s Christmas.
    Thanks for your year of Blogs that have been entertaining and all the very best wishes to you and Jan.

Leave a Reply

