Lunch with Eleanor, and lomo

Before we begin our previously scheduled posting, it is time for a Public Service Announcement.

Public Service Announcement: As you will see from the new photo at the top of this blog, we are approaching the time when our village of Daglan will be en fête, with the fair known as the Ferias de Daglan. Our own translation of the name is The Four-Day Festival of Heat and Noise, since it takes place at the hottest time of the year, and includes not only pounding dance music but a number of rides with loud recorded music, plunked right in the heart of the village. It all starts Friday night at 8 p.m., with a dinner of grillades (grilled meats) and frites (French fries), for five euros. This is followed by a dance from 9:30 p.m. to 2 a.m. on Saturday morning, for three euros. Included as a headliner (and I am not making this up) is “le group Funk You” (ahem). Watch for sales of tranquillizers and ear plugs to increase dramatically.

We now return you to regularly scheduled programming.

Yesterday was the day for the second in our annual series of Lunches with Eleanor, the 10-year-old daughter of friends of ours. Like my wife Jan, Eleanor loves the moules and frites (mussels and French fries) as served at Le Tournepique, the Basque restaurant at the Castelnaud side of the bridge that crosses the Dordogne River. So that’s where we go.

I’ve written about Le Tournepique often, since it’s one of our regular haunts for lunches. Most recently, I described my main course of “Dorade Royale, Spanish style,” which I posted on July 23.

Yesterday we started with an entrée of traditional tapas, like anchovies, artichokes, sweet red peppers, and Serrano ham; Jan and Eleanor shared one order, and I had one for myself. Then came the main courses, and naturally my female companions had the moules-frites. Once again, I thought I’d try a new dish, since I enjoyed the Dorade Royale so much, instead of my usual order, the Basque omelette.

So this time, I ordered the lomo, or pork loin, sautéed with sweet red peppers, garlic and parsley, and served with frites and a green salad. And here it is:

My main course at yesterday's lunch.

My main course at yesterday’s lunch.

The meat was tender and delicious, and nicely spiced. In fact, our lunches were so good that Eleanor and I felt like celebrating. So we each ordered a huge ice cream sundae for dessert — chocolate for her, and coffee for me.

This entry was posted in French food, Life in southwest France, Restaurants in France, Restaurants in the Dordogne and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

