From Paris, with love

No doubt you’re all familiar with that classic children’s poem:

Father’s Day comes once a year

But when it comes early, via Fauchon of Paris,

It brings especially huge amounts of cheer!

And now I can reveal how meaningful that poem really is. Yesterday (Friday) just after noon, my wife and I had plunked ourselves down to a delicious lunch of Provençal-style shrimp on steamed rice, when there was a knock on our front door. It was a young delivery man, holding a distinctive black-and-white package, addressed to me. Ah — Fauchon of Paris!

It could only mean that I was getting a Father’s Day present a week or so early.

Right from the start, my wife Jan knew what the package must contain, because of its unusual  shape: macarons. Naturally, she wondered if we should open it immediately. I preferred to concentrate first on lunch, and so I put the package out of my mind and up on the kitchen counter — temporarily. But the minute lunch was over, we opened the black-and-white cardboard outer package. To reveal this:

Container

The Styrofoam container keeps the contents cool.

Yes, a torpedo-shaped Styrofoam container! And within that container was a box containing the macarons, just as Jan suspected, as well as a plastic tube containing a pink gel to keep the cookies cool. (I know it’s a lot of packaging, but the cargo is pretty precious.) Here is the pink Fauchon box, plus the tube of gel:

Pink

Pretty in pink: The Fauchon box, and tube of gel.

Now before I show off the cookies themselves, I’m going to make a couple of points.

First, you should already know how great Fauchon chocolate candies are, because I raved about them on February 25 in my post “Food fit for a birthday;” daughter Anne and son Mike had arranged for the candies to be delivered for my birthday this year.

Second, just to be clear, these macarons are not the coconut-laden commercially-made macaroons that North Americans know. These are delicate sandwich-style cookies made of ground almonds and egg whites, slightly crispy on the outside and a bit chewy inside, surrounding a delicious filling.

In this case, my Father’s Day gift was a selection called Les Crémeux: three pralines, three coffees, two caramels, and two chocolates. Like Fauchon chocolates, the macarons are perfect — and intensely flavoured. Here they are:

Macarons

An array of 10 macaronsLes Crémeux

Along with the cookies was a card from daughter Anne (on behalf of her brother Mike as well, of course). And from Fauchon itself, these words: Nous vous souhaitons une excellente dégustation de ces produits choisis spécialement pour vous. (We wish you an excellent tasting of these products, chosen especially for you!) A notice said that the package had been shipped from Fauchon in Paris on Thursday the 7th, just the day before.

Now they are in our refrigerator — well, the ones that remain. I’m not so sure that there will be any left by the time la fête des pères rolls around, on Sunday, June 17.

This entry was posted in French food, Life in southwest France and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to From Paris, with love

  1. Double D says:

    Drool……..Got my first taste of a french macaron from Laduree last year and as treats go there is not much better. I was trying to describe the treat to Donna and was close to using a thousand words so (utterly exhausted) I went to google to show her a picture to which she replied “oh yeah, they sell those in the shop in office building”. What?1 The next day I had a 6 sampler pack. Not perfection, but close enough until I get to Paris.

    • loren24250 says:

      Double D — The best ones I’ve had in Toronto were at La Bamboche, a French patisserie on Manor Road, just east of Yonge. North side. The address is 4 Manor Road, and it’s not all that far from you. Worth a try!

      • Double D says:

        4 Manor is close by. I have to get out more. If I had read your reply earlier I would have checked it out already but now it will have to wait until next week. Thanks for the tip.

  2. aschlar says:

    These macarons are very available in North America- the best in Mobtreal at specialty stores like Pointe G on the Plateau , the best!

    • loren24250 says:

      Well, the ones I’ve had in North America are certainly good, but still they’re not up there with the ones from Fauchon of Paris (I think). Do try La Bamboche at 4 Manor Road in Toronto, and let me know what you think.

  3. Lesley says:

    Watching a TV Chef make these and her saying that it’s not that difficult, I thought I’d give it a go.
    But to do so many different flavours at one time, and have the waistline that would not expand due to major greed has meant that I’ve not made any. Postal delivery may well be the answer.

  4. loren24250 says:

    Another benefit of delivery from Fauchon is that it’s not cheap! How is that a benefit? Well, it means you won’t be overdoing it!
    In fairness, there are some quite good ones in the Greater Daglan Area, including a couple of quite good patisseries on the main street in Sarlat. Still, it was a real treat having them delivered to our door.

  5. Lisa at fLVE says:

    Wow, fantastic! Enjoy your day!

Leave a Reply

