Radio Free Daglan, the easy way

It’s always a bit surprising when I hear something like this from a friendly reader: “Sorry that I haven’t looked at your blog for some time, but today I caught up with it — spent the morning reading all the postings I’d missed!” If that sounds like you, then please just subscribe.

Here’s what happens when you subscribe to Radio Free Daglan: You will receive an email the minute that a new posting is published. If you have the time, you can read the posting right then. If not, just keep it in your inbox until you do have a minute or two. It’s simple, and you won’t miss a thing. And you won’t have to spend all Saturday morning catching up with your reading. (Alternatives: sleep in; go for a walk or run; have a coffee; make a really great breakfast with pancakes and bacon.)

A few tips and suggestions on becoming a subscriber:

How it works: To subscribe, just type your email address in the box at the top right of my blog (just below the Search function) and click on Subscribe. You’ll get a confirmation email from the people at WordPress, to make sure you really want to subscribe. And that’s it.

The best way to read Radio Free Daglan: When you receive an email with my newest posting, don’t try to read it in the email form. For some reason, the format is pretty ugly — the type will span your entire screen, and it’s hard to read. Instead, just click on the title (the headline or name for that particular posting) and you’ll be taken to my actual website, where you can read Radio Free Daglan the way it was meant to be read.

One note about advertising: None of my subscribers has ever complained directly to me, but apparently there is a chance that you will find an ad of some sort at the bottom of the email you receive. For instance, my wife is a subscriber, and recently had an ad for Volvo cars at the end of her email. I have nothing to do with this, in any way, so I assume it’s an attempt by WordPress (the web company that supports so many blogs, including mine) to cover some of their costs. In any case, I don’t think there is any harm in this, because you can simply ignore the ad.

What’s in it for me? Not much, actually. But it’s helpful, as well as a bit satisfying, to know how many regular readers (subscribers) a blog has. From the statistics I see, Radio Free Daglan regularly attracts a lot more readers than it does subscribers.

So, what are you waiting for?

This entry was posted in Blogging, Life in southwest France and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Radio Free Daglan, the easy way

  1. Double D's says:

    Great suggestion. As regular readers we never explored this opiton. We are now subscribers.

    Thanks,

  2. Suzanne says:

    Done! 🙂

  3. Rosemary McCaffrey says:

    I signed up! I always enjoy your postings. Thanks for the prompt to subscribe.

Leave a Reply

