When in Toulouse…

A couple of weeks ago, I wrote about the trip that my wife Jan and I took to Toulouse, where I had a medical appointment. In that posting I described the dinner we enjoyed at Brasserie Flo les Beaux Arts, around the corner from the Hôtel des Beaux Arts, where we spent the night.

Since our meals that night included large plates of steak tartare, accompanied by a bottle of a good Beaujolais, a small salad, and a healthy portion of crispy frites, I called my posting “How French can you get?” (March 19.) Here’s what I wrote about the restaurant:

The brasserie is a charming place, located at street level around the corner from the entrance to the hotel. It overlooks the Garonne River, right at the Pont Neuf, an area teeming with cyclists and runners as well as cars, trucks and buses. Looking out the window to my right I could watch the Garonne flowing by as night fell.

This past Tuesday, I had a day’s worth of medical appointments (before a surgery that is now scheduled for April 14), and so we left Daglan again on Monday and headed south by train to Toulouse. Since we enjoy Hôtel des Beaux Arts, we stayed there once more. And since we enjoyed Brasserie Flo les Beaux Arts so much, we ate dinner there again. (I know — creatures of habit.)

This time, I spotted a local specialty on the menu, the famed saucisses de Toulouse, or Toulouse sausages. I thought: Why not eat like a local? And so I ordered a couple of these gems, which are typically made of pork and little else besides some salt and pepper and sometimes, garlic.  At the brasserie, they were served piping hot in a rich brown gravy, sitting on little clouds of whipped potatoes. (A vegetable? Don’t be silly. This is France.) They may not be elegant, but they’re delicious, and here they are:

My simple, hearty and delicious meal.

My simple, hearty and delicious meal.

Of course, a hearty and rich meal like this deserves a small, light dessert — or, as in my case, a big rich dessert, such as profiteroles stuffed with ice cream and then absolutely drenched with chocolate syrup. Like these babies:

Profiteroles hiding under chocolate sauce.

Profiteroles hiding under chocolate sauce.

So much for Monday night’s dinner. For lunch on Tuesday, in between appointments, we decided  that it would be easiest to return to the same restaurant, around the corner from the hotel where we’d left our overnight case.

So after a complimentary glass of Champagne, Jan enjoyed scallops sitting on a bed of risotto that she found so delicious she almost licked the plate. As for me, another serving of the saucisses de Toulouse. Creature of habit? Why not?

This entry was posted in Food, French food, Life in southwest France, Restaurants in France, Travels in and out of France, Wine and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to When in Toulouse…

  1. Paul says:

    That looks like the most wonderful plate of “bangers and mash”. They certainly don’t look anything like the Toulouse sausage available from our local supermarket here in the UK.

    Opps, sorry they are labelled ‘Toulouse “inspired” sausage’. They are gluten free though.

  2. loren24250 says:

    Gluten-free? Wow, Jan will be all over that!

  3. yummy yummy it puts a whole new prospective on the humble sausage! I hope the hospital food comes up to your expectation, best wishes , hope all goes well with your op.

  4. Ken Hanning says:

    Well, I had planned a healthy meal of mackerel and salad tonight, with some horseradish cream – however, Toulouse sausages and mash for us tonight ( along with Toulouse “inspired’ sausages – given that we live in the Yorkshire dales!) Thoses sausages over here are always heavy with garlic – which we love – but I’m guessing from your post that may not be too authentic? Best wishes, Ken

  5. loren24250 says:

    Thanks Ken. Daglan chef Fabrice Lemonnier (who grew up in southwest France) assures me that Toulouse sausages do not contain garlic. But I’ve also found references on the Web that say the sausages can indeed contain garlic, and the ones I ate in Toulouse seemed to be well flavoured with it. Maybe it’s a matter of personal taste. In any case — mine were definitely tasty. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

